Due to severe storms and flooding on Aug. 18, the federal government has declared Brevard, Hendry, Okeechobee, St. Lucie and Volusia counties in Florida as presidential disaster areas that qualify for Individual Assistance.

As a result, the IRS is postponing until Nov. 17 certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area. The postponement applies to return filing, tax payment and certain other time-sensitive acts otherwise due between Aug. 18, 2008 and Nov. 17, 2008.

In addition, the IRS will waive the failure to deposit penalties for employment and excise deposits due on or after Aug. 18 and on or before Sept. 2, as long as the deposits were made by Sept. 2.